Narses2's Blog - or what I'm slowly making progress on

Started by NARSES2, April 21, 2012, 02:40:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

NARSES2

I thought I'd give this Blog lark a try and to start with I'll take you for a short trip down memory lane.

I started modelling almost certainly in the late 50's or possibly 1960 (I'd have been 7 or 8) with the ubiquitous Airfix 1/72 Spitfire bought for 2 shillings from the local Woolworth's. Well the bug soon hit big time and very soon all my pocket money/paperround money was being handed over the counter at Woolworth's on a Saturday morning. In those days Airfix came out with 4 or 5 kits a month  :rolleyes:

After a while building series one kits I graduated to some of the larger stuff and for Christmas and birthdays I would get some of the even larger kits as presents. The Airfix Ju52 sticks in the memory for some reason. Probably the fun of getting the transfers to go on over the corrugations  :wacko:

Between 7 and 15 I must have built almost all the Airfix series one aircraft and armour models produced as well as a fair few of the ship models, dad being ex RN and that. I did build some others, mainly Revell but the ones that stand out are the old Monogram quarter scale kits. The Dauntless, Avenger and Helldiver with their working parts and the Fw 190 with it's multitude of armament options. I still use the old Monogram Me 109 box to keep my stock of RAF Squadron codes in.

I suppose my next big step was when the Airfix Magazine came out. In those days it was not only kits but railway layouts, model car racing, wargaming and various other bits and bobs. I started doing some of the more simple Alan W hall and Chris Ellis conversions. A P-36 from the Airfix P-40 and a Halifax cowling, a Pz III from the Stug III and a cut down Panther turret etc.