Postcard from the edge

Started by The Wooksta!, April 19, 2024, 01:30:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

The Wooksta!

Postcard from the edge of what is likely to drive me mad.  This, gentlemen, is the Contrail Junkers Ju 390.

Rough does not even begin to cut it.  Most vac's have a nice smooth surface, this has pits, divots and wide crevices.  The panel lines make the Matchbox trench digger look like the fine work of Tamiya.
Much of the kit is crude, even by the standards of the 70s.  It's a product of a time where the modeller did much of the work.  No brass or resin, no white metal or even crude decals.  This is absolute bare bones modelling and the spares box is going to be challenged.  I've some experience of vacforms, but nothing this big.  And this is big!

You cannot view this attachment.

Most of the parts.  The nose and tail have some rather unusual crude turrets moulded in situ.

The wings.  Cliff, those panel lines are wide and those engine fronts are at best a bad joke.  And what's that box thing?

A start has been made, the fuselage mouldings have been given the last of a can of Halfords primer.  It'll be grainy, but I'll be sanding the hell out of it, so it'll be smooth enough by the time the fuselage is ready.

I've also added the Planet 390 fuselage as a contrast.  Night and day?

The turrets, the engines (at a rough guess I'd say they're BMW 801TJs), that box thing. Contrail have moulded the proposed ultra long range bomber.

So, how much of the kit is going to be actually used? Other than the fuselage and wings, very little.  There are some very crude bulkheads given, which may be useful as patterns.  I can see several kits being cannibalised, not least the one in the next post.
"It's basically a cure -  for not being an axe-wielding homicidal maniac. The potential market's enormous!"

"Visit Scarfolk today!"
https://scarfolk.blogspot.com/

"She's died?!?  Then how's she meant to get the shopping home?"

The Plan: