Author Topic: I'm back! Help with future battleship project?  (Read 310 times)

Offline seadude

• Needs A Life Outside What-If
  • Think "outside the box"!
I'm back! Help with future battleship project?
« on: August 07, 2020, 12:21:26 pm »
For the last few weeks, I've been planning and beginning to build two 1/350 scale battleship projects. Both of which are Iowa class what if builds.
The main one I want to talk about is building a what if future Iowa battleship, circa 2020's or beyond.

I started painting the main hull and used Vallejo Model Air Color paints. The hull is blue below the waterline based on an actual experimental anti-fouling paint that the TICONDEROGA class cruiser USS Port Royal once had for testing purposes. The color should be "slightly" darker, but I couldn't find the right paint to use, so I went with Vallejo Model Air Color #71.089 Light Sea Blue.

This blue hulled Iowa BB will have a heavily modified Arleigh Burke type superstructure added to it. Since it will be a "future battleship", I am hoping to have 2 (or 3) railgun turrets in place of the older 16"/50 gun turrets. I also want to have possibly 2 anti-missile, etc. laser systems (One fore and one aft.) similar to the experimental system that the US Navy ship USS Ponce tested on board as well.