CAC 'Flinders'

Started by Glenn, September 20, 2004, 07:24:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Glenn

Built to replace the ageing Lancasters' the CAC developed this 'Stop-gap' costal surveillance aircraft. Using the Lancaster as a base, the wing was mounted further back, for the new landing gear. Seen here, flying over North Queensland.
RAAF photo 0183492/34

Model:    1/144th Crown Avro Lancaster. (modified)
Colour Scheme: Humbrol 127 Satin Grey.

Tophe

Quotethe wing was mounted further back, for the new landing gear.
Do you mean : no tail wheel but a nose wheel?
Here in flight, the balance seems difficult (but I am not an engineer, Evan will tell us). I would have understood the balance as a flying wing, without tailplanes anymore, here I just wonder if that would fly... Well, no matter, as far as I am concerned - I am not a pilot as well, and I just like pretty objects, beautiful pictures, like your ones, Glenn Lyn. :)  
[the word "realistic" hurts my heart...]

elmayerle

It proabably would've made more sense to extend the fuselage forward of the wing if you were going for a tri-gear aircraft.  As I remember, Boeing looked at a high-wing, tricycle-geared B-17 derivative, but decided they gained nothinrg (there's a 3-view in the Putnam book).  

Having said all that, let me offer my compliments on a job well done and a good photo to boot.
"Reality is the leading cause of stress amongst those in touch with it."
--Jane Wagner and Lily Tomlin

nev

Beautiful as ever Glenn  :wub:  :wub:  
Between almost-true and completely-crazy, there is a rainbow of nice shades - Tophe

Sales of Airfix kits plummeted in the 1980s, and GCSEs had to be made easier as a result - James May

lancer

Very nice Glenn. What engines did you replace the Merlins with?? BTW, I like the Lanci n that grey. It looks very appropriate.
If you love, love without reservation; If you fight, fight without fear - THAT is the way of the warrior