Painting woes

Started by PR19_Kit, June 18, 2020, 01:45:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

PR19_Kit

OK, I'm a hard over brush painter and I expect using an airbrush would solve this problem, but......

Painting the camo on my entry for the 1 Week GB, my Gloster Lance FAW3, I came to paint the Dark Green bits, and it was a disaster!

Using Tamiya RAF Dark Green paint, exactly the same paint as that which I used on my recent Canberra F10 (the same pot even!) I found that every stroke of the brush produced a different shade! The subsequent strokes were usually a lighter shade, which meant the camo came out with darker edges as I usually painted the borders first. (Doesn't everyone?)

This didn't happen with the Canberra, so why should it on the Lance?

As an experiment I tried Tamiya NATO Green instead, which is just slightly darker, but close enough for Government work, and that went on quite nicely, so what's with the RAF Dark Green?

I'm going to overpaint all the duff RAF Dark Green with NATO Green now, as I'm running short on time and if it's all the same shade of green it won't be so obvious, but the problem still bugs me.

Why would it do that?
Kit's Rule 1 ) Any aircraft can be improved by fitting longer wings, and/or a longer fuselage
Kit's Rule 2) The backstory can always be changed to suit the model

...and I'm not a closeted 'Take That' fan, I'm a REAL fan! :)

Regards
Kit

kerick

I would suspect a mixing problem. But I'm sure you are experienced enough to avoid that so that leaves me short on answers. Not much help I'm afraid. How old was the bottle?

Just to sympathize, I've had more problems painting on my last few projects than ever. Sucking the fun out of modeling.
" Somewhere, between half true, and completely crazy, is a rainbow of nice colours "
Tophe the Wise

PR19_Kit

It wasn't mixed at all, it was straight out of the Tamiya pot. And it was pretty new, only a month old at most.