A 'Modern' Churchill

Started by robibob1, November 03, 2019, 06:00:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

robibob1

The concept: A Churchill Mk. VII being used by a rebel/militia force in the Middle East (possibly Kurds). I have no idea of any backstory, or even if this makes any logical sense. Really it's based on a conversation I had with a friend that happened to coincide with this GB. This is my first attempt at a whif and also my first forum post, so please let me know if I'm doing anything wrong. <_<  More details and pictures to come.

NARSES2

Firstly, welcome to the forum and secondly that sounds like a good idea  :thumbsup:

Perhaps a Churchill that was converted for engineering uses and then sold on and converted back to give it a more "warlike" purpose in life again ?
Do not condemn the judgement of another because it differs from your own. You may both be wrong.

Old Wombat

Yup, welcome to the forums! Joining in is much more fun than watching from the side-lines. Believe me, I'm a wombat! :thumbsup:

As far as I can tell only the Iraqis used Churchills in the Middle East in the post-war period. So, perhaps there are/were a few left lying around which the Kurds appropriated, refurbished, slapped a Soviet gun into & used in the modern conflicts? :unsure:

I suggest a more modern Soviet gun as there's more likelihood of ammunition & parts for servicing being available & the old 6pdrs were probably either removed on conversion to civil use or corroded from sitting around as display pieces for too long.
Has a life outside of What-If & wishes it would stop interfering!

"The purpose of all War is Peace" - St. Augustine

veritas ad mortus veritas est

Nick

I like the idea - there's lots to play with there.

Yesterday I was looking up some old tanks at www.preservedtanks.com
Plenty of British ones - http://preservedtanks.com/TypeCategory.aspx?NationalityId=4&Volume=2