Author Topic: 1:72 Boeing V-44 Quad Tilt Rotor  (Read 1640 times)

Offline jalles

• Kitbasher
1:72 Boeing V-44 Quad Tilt Rotor
« on: March 10, 2019, 08:01:48 am »
Well, I'm going to try to build a Boeing Quad Tilt Rotor.  This was meant to be a bigger brother to the V-22 Osprey, there were many proposals but I'm going with one that would use the same engines, outer wings, and nacelles as the V-22. Construction will be similar to my other builds, 3D printed molds and vacuform shells. I'm also going to print an inner frame to wrap the shell around. I'm hoping to build a basic interior and have the rear ramp be able to go up and down, although if I get bogged down I may drop that idea. I'd also like to use four bladed rotors, but I only have two V-22 kits so I need four more blades. I'm thinking of casting more blades in resin, but I've never done that before so I'll see how things go and if I have time I'll give that a go.  Here's how the beast is supposed to look when it's done.

Quad-Tilt-Rotor-Image by Jason Alles, on Flickr

Offline PR19_Kit

• Closeted Take That fan
  • Needs A Life Outside What-If
  • Whiffing since the 70s
Re: 1:72 Boeing V-44 Quad Tilt Rotor
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2019, 09:28:34 am »
Doesn't it have any fins aft at all?  :o

Or perhaps the rear engine/rotors provide enough area for stability?
Any aircraft can be improved by fitting longer wings, and/or a longer fuselage

...and I'm not a closeted 'Take That' fan, I'm a REAL fan! :)

Regards
Kit

Offline kerick

« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2019, 09:32:13 am »
Quite a project! I'll be watching this one!
There's someone in my head, but it's not me!

Offline kitnut617

• That's got his tum rumbling already just by the sound of it.
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2019, 12:40:56 pm »
Doesn't it have any fins aft at all?  :o

It depends on what art work you choose Kit, some have a fin and some don't.  The photos of the wind tunnel model that was tested had a fin.