O

1/48 Hase George

Started by Ollie, June 15, 2004, 04:54:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ollie

This is the ex-Mania kit, very fine kit.  Went up quickly and the resulting model is stunning.  Only low point is the kit's decals, they are crap, just like they usually are in Hase kits...

Ollie

Ollie

Ollie

Allan

Ollie,
Whose green and grey do you use?
Brush or airbrush?
And, most important of all, how do you do the yellow leading edges?
Allan

Ollie

Hi Alan!

I used Gunze IJN Green and Grey and for the leading edges, I used Gunze Insignia Yellow.  What I do is that I prime the area first with Tamiya IJN Grey then shoot the yellow, and then I mask before finishing the rest of the paint scheme.

I have an Iwata Eclipse BCS.

B)  

Allan

Hi Ollie,
Thanks for the info.

I'm a brush painter myself, except for the occasion use of a rattle can.

Allan

Allan

has anyone tried decals for those pesky leading edge yellow areas on Japanese planes?
Allan

John Howling Mouse

Wow, another completed project, executed with the usual impressive degree of quality.

Um, I suppose school's out but you DO still have to work for a living, no, Ollie?

^_^  :huh:  
Styrene in my blood and an impressive void in my cranium.

NARSES2

Quotehas anyone tried decals for those pesky leading edge yellow areas on Japanese planes?
Allan
I've used the Hasegawa supplied decals on my 1/72 scale jobs. Found them ok, but I'm not competition standard by a huge margin.

Chris
Do not condemn the judgement of another because it differs from your own. You may both be wrong.

Allan

you're not the only one.
Me, I don't really like comps
just put my models up for all to have a look at and then take them home
Allan

Ollie

I wish I had a job now Barry...  But things have screwed all over the place, including my back-up plan.

So I'm completing my chopper lessons and will try to find something after that...