Help, canopy fogged up beyond all hope!

Started by Silverfox, August 10, 2009, 02:41:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Silverfox

I was assembling the canopy for my 1/72nd Bronco today, and being the meat-fisted primate I am, I managed to get poly cement over some of the seams.

Just as some background info - I'm new to scale modelling, and the only thing I built previously were Games Workshop kits, which weren't too bad with poly cement, or Gundam snap-together kits.
They also lacked clear parts in most cases, and even when they didn't, it was easy to attach them.

I was also informed, back when I were a wee cubling, that nail varnish remover gets rid of poly cement. Well, it does a bit, but not spectacularly... and fogged the canopy up even more.
I'm now faced with a completely fogged and scratched canopy, after trying to remove the glue and fouling things up further, and before I give up and paint the whole things black (do not want to do this), are there any tips or help anyone can offer?

Also, I am aware of this Future Floor stuff - but being more or less a newbie, I haven't got any idea how to use it - is there a guide?

Mossie

Ah, sorry to hear that.  Nail Varnish remover contains acetone, which attacks most plastics.  You can probably get away with a small amount on opaque plastic, but you'll still need to sand it smooth.  Clear plastic will fog immediately on contact.  I can attest to this, as a young lab tech I picked up an acetone wash bottle instead of the usual meths to clean my lab specs, couldn't see a bloody thing when I put them back on & my mates didn't let me hear the end of it!

Klear (the brand name for Future in the UK) might help a bit, but it probably won't cure it.  If you going to get hold of Klear, do so soon, they've changed the formulation (avoid the new stuff that's called Pledge with Klear).  Don't worry, there seems to still be plenty of stock on the shelves so you should be able to pick some up.