Big Sky Days - old pics

Started by philp, June 18, 2009, 08:24:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

philp

In 1975 we moved from Massachusetts to Great Falls, MT.  I was 14 when I visited my first Big Sky Day (Malmstrom AFB Open House).  Armed with my Kodak 126 camera I got to walk the flight line and see planes I had never seen before.  Over the next 7 years, I attended every visit each year, even biking to the flightline the day before to see what was coming in and where they were parking them so I knew where to start.  When I graduated High School in '78, I received an Olympus OM-1 35mm SLR and my pics got a little better.

Big Sky day brought in a great collection of modern planes (warbirds came during the airshow at Great Falls International Airport) with modern (for then) Air Force, Navy, Army and Canadian aircraft being regular visits. 
I found my album that I have kept these pics in the other day and since I have a borrowed scanner on the desk, decided to put these online.  The album is located at http://picasaweb.google.com/modelphil/BigSkyDays#.

And here are a few highlights.  I have only scanned on maybe half of these and will be doing a search of my other pics to see if there are more.  Hope you enjoy them as much as I have seeing them again.

Phil Peterson

Vote for the Whiffies

philp

Besides the EB-57's that were stationed there, we had a visiting bird from the Vermont ANG.
The MTANG F-106 was a constant visitor.

My one and only flying U-2. Watching this thing take off the next day was one of the most impressive departures I have ever seen, almost like a rocket.

Another only seen bird was this EF-111.

Where else you going to get a pic of what is in that canoe on the bottom.
Phil Peterson

Vote for the Whiffies

philp

A few of the Canadian visitors:

Hawk One Canada.  Had to go and buy the decals for this one.  Now I just need the Revell 72nd kit to use them.

The Rut Zulus also were frequent visitors.

Phil Peterson

Vote for the Whiffies