SF-313 Alwet from a helicopter

Started by Tophe, August 04, 2018, 06:56:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tophe

In the 1970s, I was a realist modeler (9-15 year old), and loving the box-art of the Sud-Aviation SA-315 Lama (Heller 1/50 I think), I tried to build it. I succeeded, but the result was not beautiful at all. With all this glassware, I was afraid to paint the frames and the result was not nice.
Now I know how handling the glassware: painting it black is more easy and permits mistakes to be corrected. And the rear boom with many tubes was ugly and I can now discard it. And the very big rotor taking too much room (without pleasant shape) may be discarded.
Here is my project: no more Sud-Est SE-313 Alouette 2 (single-boom helicopter) but Southern-Fiction SF-313 Alwet (twin-boom pusher little airplane), small cousin of the Edgley Optica.
[the word "realistic" hurts my heart...]

Tophe

Here is the source I am going to use (I have ordered yesterday, arrival scheduled for August 10th): Mach2 1/72 kit (I prefer small than 1/48 Heller Alouette 2 now).

The source of this project comes from the inspiration of the P-38/Hughes 500 marvel by our friend ericr at http://www.whatifmodellers.com/index.php/topic,37003.1815.html
Thanks!

kerick

" Somewhere, between half true, and completely crazy, is a rainbow of nice colours "
Tophe the Wise

Tophe

Thanks! ;D

Quote from: Tophe on August 04, 2018, 06:56:44 PM
loving the box-art of the Sud-Aviation SA-315 Lama (Heller 1/50 I think)
Google found it on the web:

see https://modelingmadness.com/review/korean/previews/heller/482.htm

Scotaidh

... and here I thought, looking at your drawing before reading what you'd written, that it was a powered sled for zooming across the frozen wastes of northern Canada and Alaska ... :)
Thistle dew, Pig - thistle dew!

Where am I going?  And why am I in a handbasket?

It's dark in the dark when it's dark. Ancient Ogre Proverb