Author Topic: TSR2 range  (Read 6988 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline eatthis

  • Targeted for assassination by JMNs
  • ****
  • Posts: 885
Re: TSR2 range
« Reply #30 on: March 14, 2014, 09:24:59 am »
No, the two main engines are Olympuses (Olympii?) but the boost engine is a Spey, it says so in the backstory which I think is around here somewhere.

The kit was an Merlin TSR2 and as it's impossible to build a TSR2 from it I had to do something else...

loving the wings but the tsr wasnt exactly underpowered was it  :lol:
custom made pc desks built to order (including pc inside the the desk)

https://www.etsy.com/uk/your/listings?ref=si_your_shop

http://tinypic.com/m/hx3lmq/3

Offline PR19_Kit

  • Closeted Take That fan
  • What-IF SIG
  • Needs A Life Outside What-If
  • *****
  • Posts: 26433
  • Whiffing since the 70s
Re: TSR2 range
« Reply #31 on: March 14, 2014, 02:51:26 pm »
No, the two main engines are Olympuses (Olympii?) but the boost engine is a Spey, it says so in the backstory which I think is around here somewhere.

The kit was an Merlin TSR2 and as it's impossible to build a TSR2 from it I had to do something else...

loving the wings but the tsr wasnt exactly underpowered was it  :lol:

The backstory says the Barracuda S3 had the boost engine intalled for improved launch performance with limited strole catapults and for over target dash performance. The earlier S2s were severely limited in those areas, thus the larger wing and the extra engine....
Any aircraft can be improved by fitting longer wings

...and I'm not a closeted 'Take That' fan, I'm a REAL fan! :)

Regards
Kit

Offline eatthis

  • Targeted for assassination by JMNs
  • ****
  • Posts: 885
Re: TSR2 range
« Reply #32 on: March 15, 2014, 07:14:26 am »
No, the two main engines are Olympuses (Olympii?) but the boost engine is a Spey, it says so in the backstory which I think is around here somewhere.

The kit was an Merlin TSR2 and as it's impossible to build a TSR2 from it I had to do something else...

loving the wings but the tsr wasnt exactly underpowered was it  :lol:

The backstory says the Barracuda S3 had the boost engine intalled for improved launch performance with limited strole catapults and for over target dash performance. The earlier S2s were severely limited in those areas, thus the larger wing and the extra engine....

fair enough on the extra welly for cat launches but no chance did it need extra power for a high speed dash lol

do you know if the concorde olympus motors would fit in the tsr2? that would take it from 60,000 lb (prototype) to 76,000 lb of thrust thats HUGE power considering the frontal area
« Last Edit: March 15, 2014, 07:16:38 am by eatthis »
custom made pc desks built to order (including pc inside the the desk)

https://www.etsy.com/uk/your/listings?ref=si_your_shop

http://tinypic.com/m/hx3lmq/3

Offline PR19_Kit

  • Closeted Take That fan
  • What-IF SIG
  • Needs A Life Outside What-If
  • *****
  • Posts: 26433
  • Whiffing since the 70s
Re: TSR2 range
« Reply #33 on: March 15, 2014, 07:26:01 am »
fair enough on the extra welly for cat launches but no chance did it need extra power for a high speed dash lol

do you know if the concorde olympus motors would fit in the tsr2? that would take it from 60,000 lb (prototype) to 76,000 lb of thrust thats HUGE power considering the frontal area

The Barracuda S3s had more underwing stores pylons and the FAA tended to carry all their weapons there, using the bomb bay for fuel which increased the drag, thus the boost engine requirement.

I checked and I haven't posted the backstory anywhere on here, perhaps because I haven't actually finished writing it yet.   :-\

I should get on with that and then all possible questions about the 'Cuda will be answered.

Re the Concorde Olympii, I believe they would actually fit in the bays as my Prof at Cranfield was trying to do just that with XR222 when it was there. Whether the systems would have been compatible is open to question of course. The 'burners were very different on the Concorde engines, just look at the exhausts.
Any aircraft can be improved by fitting longer wings

...and I'm not a closeted 'Take That' fan, I'm a REAL fan! :)

Regards
Kit

Offline eatthis

  • Targeted for assassination by JMNs
  • ****
  • Posts: 885
Re: TSR2 range
« Reply #34 on: March 15, 2014, 07:52:26 am »
fair enough on the extra welly for cat launches but no chance did it need extra power for a high speed dash lol

do you know if the concorde olympus motors would fit in the tsr2? that would take it from 60,000 lb (prototype) to 76,000 lb of thrust thats HUGE power considering the frontal area

The Barracuda S3s had more underwing stores pylons and the FAA tended to carry all their weapons there, using the bomb bay for fuel which increased the drag, thus the boost engine requirement.

I checked and I haven't posted the backstory anywhere on here, perhaps because I haven't actually finished writing it yet.   :-\

I should get on with that and then all possible questions about the 'Cuda will be answered.

Re the Concorde Olympii, I believe they would actually fit in the bays as my Prof at Cranfield was trying to do just that with XR222 when it was there. Whether the systems would have been compatible is open to question of course. The 'burners were very different on the Concorde engines, just look at the exhausts.

iv only seen the exhausts with the thrust reversers on so iv no idea apart from that. tsr2 with that much power would be totally uncatchable on the deck (probably at higher alt too!!)
ps i look forward to the backstory :)
custom made pc desks built to order (including pc inside the the desk)

https://www.etsy.com/uk/your/listings?ref=si_your_shop

http://tinypic.com/m/hx3lmq/3

Online kitnut617

  • That's got his tum rumbling already just by the sound of it.
  • Needs A Life Outside What-If
  • *****
  • Posts: 10126
Re: TSR2 range
« Reply #35 on: March 15, 2014, 08:52:25 am »
You could always use a pair of burner cans like this (the RAF bomber would not have had the reverser buckets I've been told by those in the know)

If I'm not building models, I'm out riding my dirtbike

Offline Devilfish

  • Makes own decals
  • ***
  • Posts: 505
Re: TSR2 range
« Reply #36 on: March 17, 2014, 12:31:01 am »
The prototype Concordes had military style nozzles.   My PR5 will be having Concorde derived Olympus's so it can super cruise at Mach 2+ and then sprint at M 2.5+ (classified)  :thumbsup:

Offline elmayerle

  • What-IF SIG
  • Needs A Life Outside What-If
  • *****
  • Posts: 6355
Re: TSR2 range
« Reply #37 on: December 04, 2017, 11:09:13 am »
I'm trying to figure out what it would take to get a TSR2 to bomb the Falklands from Ascension, in lieu of the Vulcan.

Well it would only take one TSR with a refueling probe and a whole bunch of tankers.  Remember even each Black Buck Vulcan strike required multiple tankers in a VERY carefully designed plan.  I believe there were 13 Victors required (some as spares) for each Vulcan going all the way, some Victors refueled other Victors so that a few could pass off fuel to the primary strike Vulcan.

A TSR2 by itself, no air to refueling, from Ascension to the Falklands?  Not even close to possible. 

No all is lost however for a WHIF, you could still have a WHIF Falklands TSR2, just have to have some tanker support for the scenario from either Victors, Vulcans, VC-10's.  Put a probe on a TSR2 and hang some tanks and iron boms on it.     
Odd thought:  How about other TSR.2's configured as tankers?  Overload tanks on centerline and largest possible tanks on inner stores locations with one or two probe and drogue units on the outboard stores locations.
"Reality is the leading cause of stress amongst those in touch with it."
--Jane Wagner and Lily Tomlin

Online kitnut617

  • That's got his tum rumbling already just by the sound of it.
  • Needs A Life Outside What-If
  • *****
  • Posts: 10126
Re: TSR2 range
« Reply #38 on: December 04, 2017, 12:05:19 pm »
Been reading up on the TSR2 lately, I was surprised that it was only planned to carry 2000 lb bomb for 1000 nm. Any heavier load greatly reduced it's range. My scenario of one carrying a TV guided Tallboy would really push it limits as to range, it might just get over the Channel let alone down half the Atlantic.
If I'm not building models, I'm out riding my dirtbike

Offline PR19_Kit

  • Closeted Take That fan
  • What-IF SIG
  • Needs A Life Outside What-If
  • *****
  • Posts: 26433
  • Whiffing since the 70s
Re: TSR2 range
« Reply #39 on: December 04, 2017, 12:36:31 pm »

Odd thought:  How about other TSR.2's configured as tankers?  Overload tanks on centerline and largest possible tanks on inner stores locations with one or two probe and drogue units on the outboard stores locations.


There was hardware designed to do exactly that, and the bits were available in 1/72 in resin from SAM and then from Freightdog (I think....) and I've got most of the resin bits that they planned.

But even with all that lot a tanker TSR2 wouldn't have given the required range for a bomber TSR2 to reach the Falklands from Ascension unless there were an awful lot of them. Victors would have made a lot more sense, even if they'd have had to space them out along the route.
Any aircraft can be improved by fitting longer wings

...and I'm not a closeted 'Take That' fan, I'm a REAL fan! :)

Regards
Kit

Offline The Wooksta!

  • Resident Soup Dragon
  • What-IF SIG
  • Needs A Life Outside What-If
  • *****
  • Posts: 6073
  • Would you risk it for a chocolate biscuit?
Re: TSR2 range
« Reply #40 on: December 04, 2017, 01:11:05 pm »
TSR couldn't have done Black Buck  - and before you all cry "Tankers" fuel isn't the issue.  Engine oil is and that can't be topped up enroute.
"It's basically a cure... for not being an axe-wielding homicidal maniac... the potential market's enormous!"

"Now then, Butch Harry. Tell us about Fulham."

The Plan - a Blog
www.whatifmodelers.com/index.php/topic,34762.0.html